top of page

SCRAP METAL BOUNTY


Recently I have been spending a lot of time in the scrap yard sourcing metal shapes. For quite a while now ‘cosmic awareness’ has been the theme of my art. I feel metal represents this theme best.

I am mostly drawn to round/spiral shapes [expressive of how the cosmos works] Staring at these beautiful bits and pieces at my feet in the scrap yard I feel like Alice in Wonderland.


Cleaning and manipulating the metal follow – very grounding.



Finally I marry the metal with my ‘Flight’ paintings through the medium of paint. It is a very detailed and focused process which in some ways resemble the way a jeweller works.


Stainless steel dog’s bowl


I love the whole up-cycling idea, as well as the fact that some of the work become conceptual art – where the meaning of the work far exceeds the original function of the found object. A good example being the stainless steel dog’s bowl which has been crumpled by some ‘accident’. This beautifully distorted shape expresses the explosive force of the cosmos.


Edna


Join my mailing list

never miss an update

Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
Featured posts
bottom of page