top of page

stillness - new paintings by Edna Fourie

Dear Art lover

It gives me great pleasure to share with you my new paintings which were initiated by a desire to return to simplicity – both in content and form. What transpired was a series expressing deep stillness.


See individual paintings below.


I chose my two favourite flowers, the iris and poppy, to be the vehicles for whatever ‘message’ might unfold during the creative process. An interesting development was the quiet background of nothingness in which the flowers seemed to ‘float’ in a strange light. Close to completion of the series the penny dropped. I was reading a passage from a book where the author compared our inner being to a deep lake. I realised these flowers were floating deep under water in a metaphorical lake.


‘You are like a deep lake. The outer situation of your life and whatever happens there, is the surface of the lake. Sometimes calm, sometimes windy and rough, according to the cycles and seasons. Deep down, however, the lake is always undisturbed. You are the whole lake, not just the surface. When you are in touch with your own depth there is absolute stillness. Your inner peace is no longer dependent for fulfilment or happiness on the outer world of constantly fluctuating forms’


‘The Power of NOW’ by Eckhart Tolle

POR (90 x 90cm) – stillness 1

POR (74 x 74cm) – stillness 2 and 3

POR (45 x 61cm) – stillness 4, 5 and 6


I hope this ‘bouquet’ brings you some of the pleasure and joy I experienced in creating them. If you have any comments or would like to buy any of the 6 oil paintings on canvas please contact me at edna@ednafouriegallery.co.za


These paintings will be exhibited from 16 Oct to 21 Nov 2021 at


I would love to hear from you. Warmest regards,

Edna


Ps: Follow me on Instagram and Facebook where I will be discussing each of these paintings in more detail over the next 7 weeks

Join my mailing list

never miss an update

Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
Featured posts
bottom of page